Really long interview!

November 21, 2008 at 3:05 pm | Posted in Miley News | Leave a comment

Miley Cyrus recently chatted with the Philippine Daily Inquirer. She revealed that people often mistake her voice to be that of an older man: ‘When I answer the phone, people think it’s my 19 year old brother.’

On moving from Nashville to LA: ‘When I first moved to LA, no one could understand a thing I said. You would think I was speaking another language (laughter). Every time I would order something at Starbucks, they would go, ‘Huh? What did you say?’ My accent was an issue and my low voice was as well. They thought I should be more girlie. But that’s who I am. There will always be subtitles.’

On writing a song for Bolt: ‘It was the weirdest thing writing a song for a movie, already knowing the script and what they wanted me to write about. Because mostly, I let my hands be free.’

On her dog: ‘I have six dogs on half an acre. We lived on 500 acres so bringing all those pets wasn’t easy.’ Her favorite? I don’t want to say favorite but the one that’s most important to me at the moment is my new dog, Sophie. She’s a little Malti-Poo. I love her. I take her everywhere with me. She’s adorable. ‘Bolt’ shows that a dog is really a man’s best friend. Dogs have loyalty, which you can’t find in some people.’

Click “more” to read on

On her parents: ‘I change my mind every day whether I’m a daddy’s girl or a mommy’s girl. It depends on who’s on my side that day (laughter). If mommy’s being mean, I’m a daddy’s girl. If daddy’s being mean, I’m a mommy’s girl. There are times when I’m caught in between.

It’s frustrating for my mom because she’s on the harder side of business. She’s the one who, if it’s not positive, whether it’s a script that I would like to do or if it’s a song, she’s like, ‘You can’t do that. It’s not that it’s a bad business decision; it’s a bad personal decision. It’s something that you don’t want to put out into the world. It’s not positive. It’s not good for you.

My mom gets to be the hard one so then I run over to daddy. I go, ‘Daddy, she won’t let me.’ He has a side where he gets to be my friend. But there’s also a point where he’s a business partner when we’re working.

So it’s really kind of a tough situation. I seem pretty okay but no, when I get home, I scream and I yell. My mom grounds me and it’s always better because I’m learning. I’m becoming a better person by watching my mom.’

On her father Billy Ray being a sex symbol: ‘I am just saying, ‘So weird.’ For some people, any guy who can play a guitar is immediately attractive so I guess my dad’s got it.

He plays guitar, wears cut-offs and tight jeans and that works (laughter). That’s how my dad was presented. People try to do the same thing to me but I want to be known more for my acting and singing.’

On Hannah: ‘As I grow up, the character has to grow up, too. It’s just something that we need to do to keep things interesting. I would like to be like Madonna who keeps reinventing herself. That’s something I feel I could do with my character.’

On not being confident: ‘When I’m at home, I put on my sweat pants and put my hair in a bun. I never really look that great. I don’t feel that wonderful and confident.’

If she doesn’t like what her stylist brings: ‘I don’t wear it. They give me 12 different options for one night. I can choose and if there’s nothing I like, I get something else.’

On her room: ‘My room has everything all stacked up, with candles everywhere. I feel like the messier it is, the better I find things.’

On her shoe love: ‘I like shoes a lot. My favorite are these Tory Burch boots that I have on. But my favorite shoes to buy are Converse shoes. I have probably every color of Converse shoes known to man.’

On her nude Vanity Fair photos: ‘I’m over that. It was just another part of growing up. I think it was a good learning experience.

Remember what things make you special and embrace those because there are so many things that aren’t on the outside that are so important and people find so beautiful.’

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

